All  material on this site is copyright © 2014 Marley Perkins Education Ltd, except photographic images which are in the public domain unless otherwise stated.

The Seven Seas

Bina Parveen

What Are The Seven Seas?

A beach in the Pitcairn Islands, far from anywhere, in the middle of the Pacific Ocean


Ever heard an old sea shanty about "sailing the seven seas"? Well, what are the seven seas?


Actually, there are more than 100 seas on Earth. And when you put seas together, they make oceans. And there are seven of those.


They are the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the Arctic Ocean and the Southern Ocean. But wait! That's only five! We can split the Pacific into the North Pacific and South Pacific. We can do the same with the Atlantic. So that makes seven oceans altogether.

In-tray  |  7 Seas  |  History  |  100 Seas  |  Seas or Lakes?  |  Ship Canals  |  Sail the 7 Seas