All  material on this site is copyright © 2014 Marley Perkins Education Ltd, except photographic images which are in the public domain unless otherwise stated.

The Seven Seas

Bina Parveen

Seas, Seas and More Seas

Clownfish at the Great Barrier Reef, in the Coral Sea.

Photo: Janderk


The seven oceans are divided into more than 100 seas. There are even seas within seas!


The Meditteranean Sea, for instance, includes many smaller seas, including the Adriatic, Ionian and Aegean Seas.


One of the largest seas in the world is the Coral Sea, which has an area of about 4,791,000 square kilometres. It lies north east of Australia and includes the Great Barrier Reef.


Here is a list of the largest seas.


Coral Sea

Arabian Sea

South China (Nan) Sea

Mediterranean Sea

Being Sea

Bay of Bengal

Sea of Okhotsk

Gulf of Mexico

Gulf of Guinea

Barents Sea

Norwegian Sea

Gulf of Alaska

Hudson Bay

Greenland Sea

Arafura Sea

Philippine Sea

Sea of Japan

East Siberian Sea

Kara Sea

East China Sea

Andaman Sea

North Sea

Black Sea

Red Sea

Baltic Sea

In-tray  |  7 Seas  |  History  |  100 Seas  |  Seas or Lakes?  |  Ship Canals  |  Sail the 7 Seas